123..ready set go..

how much better can it get!?  i finally went back to a smart recovery meeting this morning. oh how ive missed them. i enjoyed checking in and updating on all the amazing things in my life.

mentioning that i had become a yoga teacher, after the meeting one woman approached me and asked if i’d me interested in doing recovery yoga there on weekends and set up a jar for love donations for anyone that can/wants to give. the office where they are held has a small room downstairs, enough for a few people to throw some mats down. yoga for recovery is one thing i surely wanted to do, i have talked about it, but just didn’t know when or how or where to start.

she also said that it’s great that i am going to become a facilitator, and wants to support me however she can. she offered to come to my first meeting when i have it, and said i could facilitate some of the meetings there to get my feet wet.

y’all. i am beyond excited. THIS is part of why i wanted to get sober. i wanted to help people. i have for a long time, but again, i didn’t know the what’s and how’s. they also said it might still be a while before i start my training, and its every few months or so.  as impatient as i am, i’m ok with it, because this gives me the chance to out together some yoga classes. 

FOUR MONTHS SOBER. i look at that, and i honestly can’t believe its me who is saying that. i am so grateful to be sober. i never imagined i could be so happy and look forward to life so much without alcohol. there were times i expected to die a drunk someday. i never saw myself not drinking. my life basically revolved around a bottle of wine every day. compared to now, that was a very pathetic way of existing. ive worked hard to overcome that. i don’t ever want to go back to that awful place. i enjoy where i am.

5 thoughts on “123..ready set go..

  1. That’s awesome.
    Here is my small advice.
    Don’t commit too soon. Teaching recovery yoga is tough. Teaching any yoga is draining emotionally and physically.
    Try it before committing to a regular time. See what you think.

    I have gone overboard and taught too much and regretted it. I love yoga. I want to help others, but you can pour from an empty cup. Make sure you are not sacrificing time best spent on yourself to be the giver.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment